Only way to disable this is to open about:config and change some value. Why this has no dismiss button?

There is couple more settings that are on by default and i hate those; but mostly those are subjective. However who wants 80px long “SIGN IN SO WE STORE YOUR BOOKMARKS, HISTORY IN OUR SERVERS” stuff on their screen?

  • thehatfox@lemmy.world
    link
    fedilink
    English
    arrow-up
    1
    ·
    13 days ago

    Urgh, I was considering setting up a self hosted Firefox sync. I don’t use syncing at all currently but thought it might be useful.

    I didn’t know the account system was a separate dependency. Hosting that seems a bit of burden so I think I will just stay not using sync.

    • moonpiedumplings@programming.dev
      link
      fedilink
      arrow-up
      2
      ·
      12 days ago

      I use syncing through Mozilla’s servers. Part of what killed my motivation for a self hosted setup was realizing that Mozilla sync is e2ee.